Monday Monday, or Should I say… Wow!

 american_gigolo__1980_
 “Once in a lifetime something happens and becomes an American touch stone.”
Ha ha!!!  I just heard the PBS Harley riding historian on American Ride say this about the Great Earthquake of San Francisco.  You have to admit, Richard Gere was powerful in consuming many a salivating woman as he appeared in  American Gigolo in 1980.  Actually, I never saw this movie. I was an innocent 13 year old back then.
Monday, September 19, 2016
Dear Mom,
I love you! Thanks for your email! Sorry mine are so short and lame. I run out of time fast. I am glad you met Lis! She is awesome:) I love you! Thanks for the pic! Tell Suni I love her too! P.S. Don’t watch any more scary movies. Have a great week! You are doing amazing things for these kids:)
—————–
Dear Sister Robertson,
Hi, Devon!
Hey! I thought about linking a Youtube clip of the Mamas and the Papas singing their hit,
“Monday, Monday,” or maybe one of The Presidents of the United States singing “Millions of Peaches,” but I am not as skilled as I would like to be in the ways of technology, and after what went down at Whole Foods with me this weekend, I will be writing my own original, ridiculous song called….”Peach Pits and Scary Shiz.”
Okay…..More to come.  Keep reading!
So a few EXCITING things have happened since we last emailed.
1.  Guess what?! I went kickboxing with Sister Mumford.  I was so impressed by her desire and drive.  She came all the way from Ephraim/ Snow College to try it out..  She got stuck in traffic on the freeway around American Fork area and was late, so I didn’t meet her until almost the end of the class.  We were doing partner drills and on the rotation I was matched up with her. Ha ha.  I was giving pointers and teaching her how to do a proper punch jab. At the next cue for rotation I introduced myself and she said to me, “I’m Lis.  Sister Mumford!”  Ha ha.  We chatted for a bit after class.  She told me that she and you would go running some mornings. Ha ha.  I told her that was fairly remarkable since you don’t like running.
2.  The students and I are increasingly learning the ways of 4th grade and are settling into the classroom together. Friday we finished listening to the Big Friendly Giant.   I am grateful that one  little boy is having more good days than bad ones and that he likes freeze dried seaweed as a reward for his efforts. I don’t care how bad the stuff smells as long as it works.  I wish I had studied psychology in college.
3.  Donavon was home Friday and Saturday.  He installed a headlight in the old blue Taurus so it is road worthy again.  Your sister hit a deer a couple weeks ago.
4.  I planted trees with Wasatch Back Trees, Jason Barto, and a group of volunteers.  We planted about 14 trees around a parking area at the People’s  Clinic near the IHC Hospital.  This was fun.  When I first arrived I noticed a few hot air balloons in the sky.  A Balloon Festival was underway. Guess what!!! On of these landed next to us in the middle of Round Valley Drive.  This was so crazy!
 5.  A strange thing happened to me today.  So last night, your brother insisted I see a cinematography wonder .  It  was a movie clip of a car crash sequence from a movie called 10 Cloverfield.  I did watch it and within minutes I was so curious, I had to continue watching the movie with him.  I should not have done this.  It was a creepy, scary show.  When it ended I confessed I should not have watched the thing, and I was convinced I would have a nightmare that night. He told me I would be fine.  I was not!  It ended up playing out as a “Daymare”the next day.
Definitely a Daymare:  I went to SLC.  I stopped by Whole Foods to get some peaches.  When I left the store, I got into my car and started looking at my phone like so many people do. I was in the process of calling Suni to make a plan to visit her.  This is when a young man approached my car.
Just prior to this I had glanced across the parking lot and noticed this young man walking  as if lost or unable to find his vehicle.  I happened to glance up and smile, making distant eye contact.  The next thing I knew, he was walking toward me.  This made me uncomfortable because I wan’t sure why he would do this.  I immediately locked my door and continued searching on my phone in an attempt to call Suni.
At first I thought the youth might ask me for money for fuel or something.  I rolled the window down a few inches and asked, “What can I do for you?” thinking he would tell me a car story, or ask for money or something.  This is when he said, “Hi.  I was wondering if you wanted to hang out.”  This literally (think of Chris on Parks & Rec. saying “lit-rally”!!!) …LIT-RALLY blew my mind!  I looked at him and was rendered jaw-dropping speechless.  Then I started laughing  uncontrollably and said, “I am flattered but I am old enough to be your mother!  Have a nice day.”
If his initial bold approach wasn’t enough,  he persisted, “This may be true, but I just wanted to see if you wanted to hang out.”  I told him “No Thank you,” and rolled up the window, breaking eye contact. Then he walked away as I sat there frazzled in disbelief.
Devon, I was so freaked out.  I wondered if this twenty-something was high on drugs, or if he was a  Cloverfied psychopath, or perhaps even a local gigolo.  ( I don’t even know how to spell that word  that resembles Jello Jiggler……….ha ha…….and had to look it up on Dictionary.com!!!)  I was never so glad to leave what is normally a favorite parking lot, and to get to kick boxing where I feel strong and safe surrounded by my friends.
So yeah.  Propositioned by a 25 year old.  Crazy Weird!  This was completely unprovoked! Guess that’s the risk of non-discriminately smiling at strangers.  Yep.
6  On a better note…..we have been reading the New Testament as a family.  I am always sad when the writers of the 4 gospels tell about Jesus’ crucifixion and death.  We will be into the Book of John soon. Yay! so I will hear about His birth and life again.
Not much else.
I hope you have a wonderful week teaching about Jesus!
PS- I sent you a picture of Wyatt.
Love, Mom 🙂
PS- As far as email goes…..I’ll take lame over shame any day!
About hrobertson2013

“Each man ( and mermaid) will be like a shelter from the wind and a refuge from the storm, like streams of water in the desert and the shadow of a great rock in a thirsty land”. Isa 32:2 NIV Warning: The author of this blog is not an ordinary individual. Even Mermaids need a rest from all that's real and grown up. Welcome to the wonder of blog. Come be audience to all that's wet and wild in her stories, poems and thoughts. Instructor by day, super hero by night, and mystical mermaid by summer. Whenever she has the fortune of diving into a pond, reservoir, or mountain waterfall, you'll find her there swimming, and singing songs of life.
This entry was posted in Creatures and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

