Flying Down the Freeway: One-stop, Truck Stop Dragon Tamer Loto Shop

Dragon Tamer

DRAGON TAMER: (Noun) 1. bad&$$ chick who befriends and collaborates in  adventure with mammoth, mystical flying reptiles. 2.  Specialty, essential, juniper oil, effective in soothing sore dry, cracked dragon scales, and chaffed, calloused saddle-sore skin.  Magical properties. 3.  Truth serrum.  May be administered to dispell lies and eradicate wild, prideful tendencies.  Best when given a few drops at bedtime with Tension Tamer Tea. Best results when administered while subject is restrained.  (Use sparingly and with caution.  Too much of a good thing is not good.  Don’t overthink it.)

What it is NOT:  (Not a treatment for psoriassis or thinning hair; NOT a hair product.)

Okay…….Here goes!

————-

Dear Devon,

So many thoughts are reving in my mind. Wow!

Or maybe it’s just the wailing wind blowing, or….. your wild brother, Donavon, riding the green, vintage Kawasaki. He’s getting it ready for the big trip out to the west desert for Joe’s bachelor party.  Today, he’s been expiramenting with the fuel/oil ratio. It doesn’t seem to be sputtering quite as much as it was. Friday night, I came home from Rocking Out at 80s Big Hair Kick boxing to find Don and Johnny M. reeking of carburator fluids.

I nearly boxed their ears!  They had ripped the thing apart in the family room.  Today it still stinks of fossil fuel and carburator cleaner, and I feel kind of sad for the six baby chicks cohabitating the space. Amazingly enought they did achieve successful reassembly of the small engine, even if it was out on a cold, dark driveway, vision slashed by harsh halogen lights.  This was a huge conquest for the friends.

Please turn your attention to the photo above.  It is a piece of amazing ART I encountered at a truckstop called “The Garden of Eden.  The gallery is found in a little oasis, albeit not Little America near Rock Springs, Wyomig, but rather, a relief point on the Idaho side of the Utah/Idaho border.  Suni, fetus Blobby, and I stopped here to gas the car and to buy lottery tickets on our way home from Allison Potter’s wedding last weekend.

That’s RIGHT!  Lotto tickets, or “My little donation to the Idaho Education System.” Please feel free to comment on the degradation of addictive gambling as you respond.       I have to admit the “Treasure Hunt” scratch-it card was really fun!  A nice lady and her disinterested teen daughter paused to (corrupt),teach me how to play.  We were all very excited for a full five minutes. It was well worth the $5.oo.  Yep.   Good thing I don’t live near the border. Utah might have to build a wall.

It was the roadtrip of the decade for Suni and I, so we had a bucket list to complete, along with chicken fingers and potato wedges with fry sauce. Like I said, the Check-list also included small-time gambling, and (oh, yeah!) a side-trip to Shoshone Falls. This followed events of the day before: a wedding, a whirl-wind shopping spree for maternity clothes (Seester Suni), and 55 burpees on the dance floor (me) at the reception. Phew! This is probably a good spot to include that video clip!!!  I may add it later……

I chided and threatened to do burpees in a Truck Stop shower line-up….but Suni forbade it…..tile being a slick and unsafe surface. tee hee.

So in the Garden of Eden, I found myself coveting this piece of art.  Yep. This and several brightly painted canvas horse prints. The fantasy piece was very near center stage/ center store, neighboring the Tree of Good and Evil, and a certain slithering, silver-tongued serpent sliding down  a spinning monogrammed keyring stand, ever nearing a line for soft-serve ice cream customers.  I have not encountered all that many scary dragons in my life, but I have been addressed by a few serpents.  ha ha…jk…..mostly in childhood.

There were those 100 species of rattle snakes at a well known snake farm off of I-10.  But as for dragons,  I have not seen many in person.  I have imagined a few, and have a hunch that one hybernates under the Brave Way (School house hill).  Also, I’ve seen photos of sky dragons and snow dragons, but my vision was clouded.  My favorite dragon exists in literature.

The amazing dragon in the art piece got me thinking about C.S. Lewis and the Voyage of the Dawn Treader.  I found myself remembering the powerful Aslan stripping Eustace Scrubbs of dragon scales in an act of Grace.  Reading or hearing Lewis describe this process can be difficult for reader and listener alike.  Cathartic. Enduring the pain of a miserable child is not easy.  His pain becomes your own as pride is ripped away.  The work eventually brings submissiveness and humility.

Kind of reminds me of a series of childhood home improvement torture sessions I experienced in my youth. When my brother Rocky and I were kids in Chiggerville, we became an unwilling child-labor workforce as we helped  scrape the entire outside of our house for repainting.  Painful, sweaty, arm-aching, back-breaking job.  Ugh.  I remember this well.  In the end, on the other side of much yelling, blistered hands, bloody knuckles, and a worn pallet knife,  stood a shining, enameled thing of beauty.  A clean, beautifully, repainted house. So too was the new boy Eustace as he evolved.  He too became new. And as he was reduced to his true self, he  arose once again, clean, and shining with promise.

Devon might appreciate this metaphore as a symbol for repentance and coming to Christ, nothing wavering.

What should I name the dragon in the truck stop picture?

I think……Applebee.

She does reside in the Garden of Eatin!

For that matter, what would a post-modern dragon eat?

Forbidden fruit, Flaming Cheetos, or the guy at pump #

Have a great week!

Love, Mom 😉  ~~&~~

About hrobertson2013

“Each man ( and mermaid) will be like a shelter from the wind and a refuge from the storm, like streams of water in the desert and the shadow of a great rock in a thirsty land”. Isa 32:2 NIV Warning: The author of this blog is not an ordinary individual. Even Mermaids need a rest from all that's real and grown up. Welcome to the wonder of blog. Come be audience to all that's wet and wild in her stories, poems and thoughts. Instructor by day, super hero by night, and mystical mermaid by summer. Whenever she has the fortune of diving into a pond, reservoir, or mountain waterfall, you'll find her there swimming, and singing songs of life.
This entry was posted in Creatures and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

