32 Degrees & 55 Burpees: I Should Do a Sundance

snowflake

Dear Sister Vancouver,

Hi Devon,

I am humming the song, “Baby, It’s Cold Outside,” and hoping this email finds you happy and well. Praying your companion has found regained health and strength. Imagining you strong and staying warm in your layers and in those cozy GUM BOOTS! Maybe you should get some acrylic paint and paint Bazooka bubble gum and comics on the outside of your boots! Then on the tough days, when things are looking down, you can laugh at your feet and resolve to “stick” with the work.  ha ha… Tap into your creative side on P-Day!!!! Hm. Maybe.  I love you, Devon.

It is Sunday. It’s about 32 degrees. This is warm. The sun is shining. (I should do a “Sundance.”) I am grateful for light. Sometimes mid-winter feels sad and gray….but I have been trying to appreciate all cloud types. In Utah, clouds mean warmer temps. Clear skies mostly mean COLD nights and mornings! Clouds combined with cold air sometimes means SNOW for the commute! Snow means beautiful snowflakes and a medium for creativity and fun on the playground. It is really beautiful to see the hills and valleys draped in white. Beautiful scenery and sometimes treacherous roads. Bah! I am fairly fearless.

Winter blahs and blues don’t stand a chance when one gives power to gratitude. Gray clouds don’t stand a chance against a promised high pressure system, and increased sunshine.  Here is (a snowflake line up) * * * * * * and, * * * * * (another one).  Winter blahs…. don’t stand a chance against…..55 burpees on a twin matress! (Today I did not flake out on them.)

I’m doing a burpee challenge as motivated by one of my kickboxing friends. (Hey, maybe you and your companion might like doing this! It’s nothing like RUNNING!!!)  It’s a +5 pattern for the most part. Each day or so, increase by five. It’s not easy, but it’s doable.    It is so much easier to accomplish these goals if the burpees are built into the kickboxing class workout. Some instructors are catering to the needs of those doing the challenge, some not, so sometimes we are on our own.

By the time I get home late in the evening, I am out of the mood or just plain too exhausted to expend any more energy. I am lucky to make it into the house and up stairs. I get them in most days. The few times I have done burpees at home have been on Sunday and I have done them on the twin matress in the big room when dad is not watching. It’s kind of comical. I’m not sure I am getting the full benefit of the exercise…..but I do tire and get hot and sweaty. So, something is happening…..which is more than would otherwise occur if seated in the lazy girl recliner.

I remember my parents yelling at us kids for jumping on the bed….and me getting after you kids (maybe) for doing the same (because that’s what my parents did). I have changed my thinking these days. I am designating that matress as the burpee matress and, truth be told, um,  I might have paused between sets….simply to jump. ha ha…. I don’t really care what anyone thinks or says about some things. Even so, I will still do the them when dad is not looking.

I’m sure you have a ton of mission goals. It has been a good week at school. We recently completed mid-year Dibles testing and I met with each child to explain data, to celebrate gains and to set new personal goals. Wednesday, at the end of the day, I gave every kid a party popper and we did a finger roll and count down to blasting off the poppers to collectively celebrate accomplishments. This kind of flashed me back to early motherhood and Cub Scouts. 🙂 The kids were happy. I’m glad every child was at school that day.

Friday, I revisited with each child reviewing the goals they have set. We wrote their numbers on a ping pong ball. Then each chose a couple of colorful permanent markers to color their pp ball. When everyone was ready, I set up several hoops of varying sizes and difficulty levels and hosted a ppball hoop shoot.  This was fun for every child. And not super competitive. Just fun. We only had a couple balls temporarily lost, and one crushed under someone’s foot from stepping on it. ha ha.

Don went back to UVU this morning. It’s good to see him on the weekends. Nothing is the same…more and more. I could say the same for you.  Delanie is consistently “teen.” Love it. Love her. She is good…and studying and swimming well.

I see Molly Starbucks lots of days. She says “HI! I MISS DEVON!!!!” Did you get her Christmas card?

That’s about it. May this week be a wonderful week of teaching and learning for all of us!

Love,

Mom 🙂

About hrobertson2013

“Each man ( and mermaid) will be like a shelter from the wind and a refuge from the storm, like streams of water in the desert and the shadow of a great rock in a thirsty land”. Isa 32:2 NIV Warning: The author of this blog is not an ordinary individual. Even Mermaids need a rest from all that's real and grown up. Welcome to the wonder of blog. Come be audience to all that's wet and wild in her stories, poems and thoughts. Instructor by day, super hero by night, and mystical mermaid by summer. Whenever she has the fortune of diving into a pond, reservoir, or mountain waterfall, you'll find her there swimming, and singing songs of life.
Gallery | This entry was posted in Creatures, Dear Sister and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

