Turn to the Light

images-5

We braved the dark and cold to see the newest movie in the Star Wars series. While it was impressive, I still prefer the George Lucas originals I grew up on. They help to remind me of the hero in each of us. They call to put the darkness of fears aside and to turn to the Light.

Tonight I viewed the remastered episode VI, “Return of the Jedi.”  In this I found myself admiring Leia’s bondage bikini, cheering on the choking of Jaba the Hutt, and envying Luke Skywalker’s rescue acrobatics.  I never tire of ahh-ing over the cuteness of the wookies, smiling at the affectionate bantar between Hans Solo and the Princess, celebrating the end of the Emperor; finding hope in witnessing the reconciliation of father and son, Anakin and Luke. Here are a few additional things I noticed:

emperor has pink eye

  1. The grumpy Emperor had one BAD case of pinkeye for wayyyyy too long! Someone could have given him antibiotic drops years ago and perhaps brought peace to the Empire.

AT ST All terrain scout transport

2.  The AT-STs were incredible!  I wish I had one of these, (maybe even more than coveting a real light saber and my own droid pair), even if AT-STs walk like funky chickens with heavy metal jackets, or me after a few too many fire hydrant shin kicks in kickboxing class.

images-2

3.  Darth Vadar’s helmet was really a small, portable respirator/euthanasia device.  I like how he pulled the plug on himself at the end, right after he saved his son.  The end had come and he knew it. Admirable.

What if people could do this for themselves in real life? End, and move on. Euthanize when the time is right. I am reminded of Granny Adkins and of another friend I visit these days.  The days and nights before passing must be long and dark for those suffering.  Today, Harry was happy for my smile and to have a hand to hold.  I’m glad I could be there for him.

I am certainly not condoning suicide.  If Lord Vadar’s death device was as mainstream as portable oxygen, then hospice and PraxAir would not be necessary.  Actually, I think hospice is an amazing blessing. It certainly was for both my mothers- mine and my husband’s.

Okay.  I could probably say more, but I will not, except to end on a positive.  One of my resolutions is to say more in fewer, more meaningful words. So, that’s it. Look to the Light.  The Light is Life.  He came into the world on that first Christmas….and He will come again….like a Jedi…but with more Glory.

🙂  Happy Day After Christmas and many wonderful wishes for the New Year!

About hrobertson2013

“Each man ( and mermaid) will be like a shelter from the wind and a refuge from the storm, like streams of water in the desert and the shadow of a great rock in a thirsty land”. Isa 32:2 NIV Warning: The author of this blog is not an ordinary individual. Even Mermaids need a rest from all that's real and grown up. Welcome to the wonder of blog. Come be audience to all that's wet and wild in her stories, poems and thoughts. Instructor by day, super hero by night, and mystical mermaid by summer. Whenever she has the fortune of diving into a pond, reservoir, or mountain waterfall, you'll find her there swimming, and singing songs of life.
Gallery | This entry was posted in Creatures and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Turn to the Light

Leave a Reply

