Devon Eve

flagbig

Tomorrow is a big day for my daughter and our family.  Devon is speaking to a small LDS congregation prior to embarking on a proselyting mission to Vancouver, B.C.  She is really excited for her mission quest.  I am happy for her because she is happy, and she will be serving and sharing a message of Christ, but I am  kind of nervous about tomorrow.

I don’t particularly like going to church here anymore, but I want to be present for Devon and the rest of the family. Last week, Devon spoke in a Young Single Adult Ward. She did well.  I felt kind of sick though.  That evening I was also invited to attend an additional meeting with Angel, a “Night of Excellence.”  I’m convinced I overdoesed on church and gained a big fat headache. Ugh. I also think time passes quickly and soon the children will be gone, so I can not lose opportunities for being with my kids.

Today was pretty terrific.  I went to a new Cardio Kickbox class, which was presented by a favorite instructor, who now also teaches outside of ILOVEKICKBOXINGSANDY.  It was about 30 degrees in SLC, Utah, and on the patio of Whole Foods I could see my breath and everyone elses. We were really huffing and puffing.  I loved it, especially the parts when we ran around the block, and took turns skipping rope.  My friend Becca and I did up and down planks and laughed a lot.  During this time I coined a new word….”Plankful.”  Yes.  I kept telling my friend I was plankful for her.  🙂

After class I went to the largest COSTCO in the nation. I was not plankful for this. Bahh!  Bahhhh! I can’t believe I did this. Really! This was traumatizing for me. Shopping is my least favorite activity of all time……but I was in the city and we still needed things for Devon’s send-off brunch, so I graceously agreed to go buy more Ego Waffles and paper goods for the tables.  I have concluded I do not want to shop in CostCo ever again, as it is so OVERWHELMING, and I am not suited for the shopping lifestyle.  I kind of dread the upcoming holidays for this reason.  Looking back, now, I am plankful I made it through and thanked God that I survived today’s congested shopping experience and made it safely out of the city and back to a beloved Summit County rural life again. 🙂

I can not get over how many people were voluntarily crammed into that CostCo warehouse and the enormity of the building space. The abundance of so many items bordered insanity, and made choosing somewhat dificult.  Also the parking lot was insane, even in the front 40, distant parking lot where I strategically parked away.  I was just adjacent to the gas station that looked more like a scene from the 70s Gas Wars.  Wow, Saturday is prime time for gassing up, and the lines at the pump are lonnnnnnng.  Glad I had enough in Pearl’s tank and did not need to join in on this fossil fueling.  It was almost too much to take in.  Ahhhhhh!  I concluded……I need very little of the inside or outside of CostCo to remain alive and happy……and the only item I actually DID want and happily bought was an acrylic paint set of 25 assorted colors for only $17.00.  I will certainly use this for a school craft project with my students.

Think I better try to sleep.  We have a whole houseful tonight.  No telling what sounds, lights, and sights I will wake up to tonight or in the morning.  Phew!

About hrobertson2013

“Each man ( and mermaid) will be like a shelter from the wind and a refuge from the storm, like streams of water in the desert and the shadow of a great rock in a thirsty land”. Isa 32:2 NIV Warning: The author of this blog is not an ordinary individual. Even Mermaids need a rest from all that's real and grown up. Welcome to the wonder of blog. Come be audience to all that's wet and wild in her stories, poems and thoughts. Instructor by day, super hero by night, and mystical mermaid by summer. Whenever she has the fortune of diving into a pond, reservoir, or mountain waterfall, you'll find her there swimming, and singing songs of life.
Gallery | This entry was posted in Creatures. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

