Halloween is Sweet……even without candy.

trick

What a week!  It was sweet, even without candy.  As I sat in the kiva with the children who would soon walk home, I thought….I’m exhausted.  This week contained all the usual school stuff, and then…two staff meetings, swim team practices, and Red Ribbon Week, “Just Say NO to Drugs,” through daily dress up. Then Halloween also popped up along with of all of this.  By about 3:30pm, I left all the hubub of my beloved school, still capable of feeling somehow accomplished, and mostly smiling.  Life is abundant and I am grateful for so many things, not the least of which are the wonderful children and adults I spend my days with.  Here are a few more things I’m thankful for:

  1.  Creativity and Dress up.  I was thinking I might dress up as a kickboxer because I was down to the wire and not sure what I would do about a costume….but, a nice lady named Grandma Bonnie loaned me a Wonder Woman costume. It was a little small, probably meant to be worn by a teenager, but it still worked with  the homemade gold, deflector bracelets and headband I constructed.   I couldn’t get the gold spray paint can to work, so I skipped the golden lasso of truth.  No sweat!  I had an invisible plane, instead.
  2. The elementary Halloween Parade was a big hit! Dale’! Dale’! That’s a Spanish word I relearned this week.  It felt like a mini, juvenile version of Comic Con! So awesome! The children were beaming and so proud of the costume creations they were wearing.  The weather was a bit cool, but it was also very beautiful and sunny.  AND, I was able to fly into action and save the day as the super hero I sometimes am when a child had a shoe blowout.  This was certainly a feel good for doing good in behalf of a child.
  3. NO CANDY!  Yay!  The PTA scaled back on the sweets.  Hooray!   The shiny orange metalic candy bags did not contain candy…..unless you count a small pack of high fructose corn syrup fruitsnacks.  Instead were stickers, a pencil, a bendy eraser, glow stick/necklace,  a squatty bottle of water, and a fun snack sized bag of Cheetos.
  4. Family time.  Friday night was a family fun night for my family and I as we went to Maxwell’s for pizza and to Jupiter for bowling. It was out of this world!  I can’t remember the last time I saw Angel that happy, bowling gutterballs, and doing the moonwalk to Thriller.  It was a birthday celebration for both of our girls.  Not sure Devon and the two friends she invited were feeling the love Delanie was.  Devon kept thinking about how EARLY 4:30 am would be, and how she would be opening in the morning at Starbucks.  Yep.  Also,  most bowlers did not break a score of 50 points.  Pathetic!  Oh, well.  It was a really nice bowling alley, we had some laughs, and ……I would go back to that beautiful, non-smokey setting if I was invited again just for the lights, big screens, and atmosphere.
  5. Watching movies.  It felt good to rest. The girls and I did our traditonal viewing of the opening of Tim Burton’s Nightmare Before Halloween. I never tire of this, and year after year I imagine how wonderful it would be to watch a live Broadway version of this and (Jack the Pumpkin King), then I get a little sad and miss doing Opera with my students.  Then after the animation clip, the girls and I watched 4 hours of North & South, a British four part series at Devon’s recommendation.  Devon is a hopeless romantic.  I have to say, the four hour wait was worth the love scene in the last few minutes.  Very nice.  It rivals Jane Austen’s stuff.  I have concluded:  I’m going to miss my Devon, soon to be British Canadian missionary girl.
  6. Silent Night.  No! Not the Christmas Carrol…..but, because we are a rural community, and I live off the beaten path, we do not get trick or treaters.  This is kind of sad, but I’m okay with it. School is enough. Also, I did not go to Trunk-or-Treat. I was invited. Yes. Our very nice school custodian, who I suspect is on the church food committee reached out and invited me, and I was grateful.  However, I must say that no hotdog or chilli in the history of the world will ever be delicious enough to entice me to that gathering again. 🙂  Also….I do not eat or appreciate CANDY. I’m off the stuff. Hooray!….and do not feel the slightest bit of draw to it.  🙂  I have concluded that American culture is seriously wacked with respect to so many dietary practices and food traditions.  Yes. And just WHY do we perpetuate some of this?  Like….Why do this to our children, really?! Feed them lies and death by sugar?
  7. WordPress. Reading the blog roll and then making the midnight ride, or in other words, writing a post after not writing for some time.

8.  SLEEP. That’s about it for tonight.  Time to turn out the lights and wish upon a good night sleep.  I could really use some sleep.  🙂

About hrobertson2013

“Each man ( and mermaid) will be like a shelter from the wind and a refuge from the storm, like streams of water in the desert and the shadow of a great rock in a thirsty land”. Isa 32:2 NIV Warning: The author of this blog is not an ordinary individual. Even Mermaids need a rest from all that's real and grown up. Welcome to the wonder of blog. Come be audience to all that's wet and wild in her stories, poems and thoughts. Instructor by day, super hero by night, and mystical mermaid by summer. Whenever she has the fortune of diving into a pond, reservoir, or mountain waterfall, you'll find her there swimming, and singing songs of life.
This entry was posted in Creatures and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

