RING IN THE NEW YEAR, BUT DON’T FORGET…..

…CHRIST WAS AND IS STILL THE REASON FOR CHRISTMAS

Christmas_Bells.sm

Recently, each time I’ve checked my email I’ve found a recurring spam: “Reverse Your Tinnitus, Stop the rіngіng іn your earѕ naturally.” This is advertising for yet ANOTHER  pharmaceutical, no doubt, but I was not thinking drugs, nor was I on drugs. Naturally,  I thought of things others would not.  I imagined an image of Tiny Tim, and Scrooge. I know, it’s a stretch….”reverse”…and… “Tim for Tin.”  In Dicken’s Christmas Carol, Scrooge does a lot of reversing in the end, becomes a do-gooder, even preserving the lad that he, and we have come to love.

This is how my brain works as it fast forwards, rewinds, side steps, and cotton eye joes,  in forming connections and meanings, sometimes in a British accent. So, instead of box-stepping to blowing off the annoying email, or trashing it, I changed my thinking toward creation. I do this mind play for myself, and sometimes for others.  I researched Tinnitus and discovered a wiki page referencing Henry Wadsworth Longfellow. Another hit resulted in the following:

http://www.whatsaiththescripture.com/Fellowship/Edit_I.Heard.the.Bells.html

This site reveals the history of Longfellow’s carol, “I Heard the Bells on Christmas Day,” a lovely classic, sometimes sung in church, but not so familiar with the younger generations more apt to embrace the secular Santa, along with new toys and other modern devices.  As I read, my mind flew batty to the belfry.   Ebaneezer, the Spirits, and I climbed a stair landing.  Here I came to a wonderful cheese crumb conclusion, some non-Christians might have a beef with:

What if everyone had a chronic case of Tinnitus (ringing in the ears)?

What if all mankind Heard the Bells on Christmas Day, and then took that message with them from that day forward.  What if they received the name of Christ, bowed a knee, confessed, and then… lived more the life modeled by a received Savior.  This would be a miracle, much like the one experienced by our villain/hero, Ebaneezer Scrooge.  If this were so, mortals would be more moved to stillness.  From a quiet heart space, they would be less quick to lie and to self-serve,  and faster in running to Jesus and righteous doing.

If mankind had Tinnitus, with ears Christmas ringing,  and mouths Christ singing, not just during Christmas, but on every day of the year, there would be increased LOVE.  There would be PEACE ON EARTH & GREATER GOOD, in the spreading of GOOD WILL TO MEN, WOMEN, CHILDREN AND ANIMALS.

Christ was and is the reason for Christmas.  He still finds place in the house I sometimes call home.  For a month or so, He is found in a tiny resin Nativity manger. He is seen as a thumb-size puffpillow baby, velcroed and clinging to a quilted, Oriental Trade Company Advent calendar. When my children were toddlers, they used to steal away with these baby Jesuses in their chubby little hands.  It was a giggling game of chase.

The kids are mostly grown and nearly on their own.  My husband and I will soon be empty nesters. Some days I feel grateful to be acknowleged, or to get a smile from these busy teens. They are on the move, testing wings. I hope they have learned to trust in God. My Italian missionary son has.

From a high nest place, in blessed times, God comes down, dove-like, to the least of these, even sinners like me.  God willing, Christ finds place in my heart, as I open to Him a green, solid core wood door, upon which He is knocking, or ringing.  Christ is a ringing bell; a shining star and candle.  He peals the way and shines the light.  His still small voice is tinkling to my ears.  His words pleasantly toll, beckoning all to Come Unto (Him). I am grateful for God’s Grace, for the ultimate gift in His Son, and for sometimes holy metaphores, and Contemporary Christian Music.

By the time I was done bouncing on a world wide web trampoline, I found myself resting on Youtube. I hope you enjoy this Casting Crowns version of a cover that somewhat resembles the amazingly penned lyrics of “I Heard the Bells on Christmas Day”, originally created by one who was in no way short of beautiful writing. (I don’t know if this media youtube will work. I’m still learning. 🙂 If not, search it.

So… So long fellow 2014! Hello friend, 2015!  We’ve so much to live for in bringing and sharing peace and good will to all those we encounter in our own realms, that sometimes cross lines and boundaries. Time to buy the big goose in the window and toast with Martinelli’s sparkling cider, His coming and His soon return, as we ring in a New Year and tune our hearts to His.    🙂

————–

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/I_Heard_the_Bells_on_Christmas_Day

I heard the bells on Christmas Day
Their old, familiar carols play,

and wild and sweet
The words repeat
Of peace on earth, good-will to men!

And thought how, as the day had come,
The belfries of all Christendom

Had rolled along
The unbroken song
Of peace on earth, good-will to men!

Till ringing, singing on its way,
The world revolved from night to day,

A voice, a chime,
A chant sublime
Of peace on earth, good-will to men!

Then from each black, accursed mouth
The cannon thundered in the South,

And with the sound
The carols drowned
Of peace on earth, good-will to men!

It was as if an earthquake rent
The hearth-stones of a continent,

And made forlorn
The households born
Of peace on earth, good-will to men!

And in despair I bowed my head;
“There is no peace on earth,” I said;

“For hate is strong,
And mocks the song
Of peace on earth, good-will to men!”

Then pealed the bells more loud and deep:
“God is not dead, nor doth He sleep;

The Wrong shall fail,
The Right prevail,
With peace on earth, good-will to men.”

About hrobertson2013

“Each man ( and mermaid) will be like a shelter from the wind and a refuge from the storm, like streams of water in the desert and the shadow of a great rock in a thirsty land”. Isa 32:2 NIV Warning: The author of this blog is not an ordinary individual. Even Mermaids need a rest from all that's real and grown up. Welcome to the wonder of blog. Come be audience to all that's wet and wild in her stories, poems and thoughts. Instructor by day, super hero by night, and mystical mermaid by summer. Whenever she has the fortune of diving into a pond, reservoir, or mountain waterfall, you'll find her there swimming, and singing songs of life.
This entry was posted in Creatures and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

