Side Mirror

Side Mirror

Today is email day. I have grown accustomed to waking at 4:30 a.m. for what feels like Christmas morning for this child of nearly fifty. For reasons unknown to me I did not hear from my Italian son today. Sad. Maybe he has flown to Sicily for zone conferences. I pray he is safe and well.

I did hear from my Cow Girl…. Canadian nephew, Brocston. He writes the most delightfully lonnnnnng letters home. While my boy is in the perfect temperate Mediterannean part of the world wearing stylish Italian missionary clothing, Brocston is bundled and freezing his bottom off in Calgary……and loving it. Both putting the needs of others first, and sharing the message of a Savior in Jesus Christ.

This is one of the pictures Broc sent home to the family. Got me thinking about the way we view ourselves and others. The disclaimer on the mirror sums it up pretty well in “OBJECTS IN THE MIRROR CLOSER THAN THEY APPEAR.” We are often too quick to see the speck in the eye of another, when we have a beam, or veritable log in our own eye. Vision impaired, we are too harsh in our judgings. What if we saw only the good in people? I suspect that loving others would be much easier with more righteous blinders on. ha ha.

I am reminded that I can not trust in what I CAN or CAN NOT see, or what I think I see, or even sometimes feel. “Trust not in the arm of man…” Only trust in God. And yet I do want to trust and to be trusted.

We must trust, we must connect, we must endure. Trust is crucial in surviving and in thriving. We are meant to live an amazing life in joy and sorrow. We are meant to endure with empathy in carrying our own crosses and the crosses of others. Search and rescue is the human conditon.

“This is His work and His glory, to bring to pass the imortality and eternal life of man and woman.” I would just settle for being found a bit more acceptable in this life, forgiven and loved by my Lord, and with a few loving friends to share the journey with.

I write a verse:

If not for glory, then for love.
If not for love, then for friendship.
If not for friendship, then for duty.
Who is my brother? Who is my sister?
Who can know the heart but Jesus?
Praise.
He rose on the third day….
and so he raises me again and again
to the warmth of an Eastern sky.
My God he is.

Only Jesus knows the heart. He has holy eyes. I pray that I may see and feel with holier eyes and to hear whisperings of the Spirit as I swim straitway to new. Good thing I have a young Canadian missionary and an wise Italian son to offer weekly celestial navigation in a few happy lines of text and some pretty silly selfies. 🙂 I may fall again and again. I am assured in knowing He loves me and will alwuz smile upon me in giving me a hand up. His grace is enough even when my best is not enough.

About hrobertson2013

“Each man ( and mermaid) will be like a shelter from the wind and a refuge from the storm, like streams of water in the desert and the shadow of a great rock in a thirsty land”. Isa 32:2 NIV Warning: The author of this blog is not an ordinary individual. Even Mermaids need a rest from all that's real and grown up. Welcome to the wonder of blog. Come be audience to all that's wet and wild in her stories, poems and thoughts. Instructor by day, super hero by night, and mystical mermaid by summer. Whenever she has the fortune of diving into a pond, reservoir, or mountain waterfall, you'll find her there swimming, and singing songs of life.
Gallery | This entry was posted in Creatures and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

