Competition: Attempt at 270

Image

*I’m coming to from flu state. No pool of sweat, although I think it fitting. Reduced and raised to writing in my dreams again. This one suggests a kind of competition.

*I’m shopping at Smith’s Market Place. This is a strange unity. My husband pushes a loaded cart toward the check out. I cannot eat his chips, cookies, soda. Set off to find some grapes and things more wholesome in organic.

*In this I notice employees restocking quickly. They are putting things away, announcing store closure, counting registers. It’s nine o’clock. Strange, this is a twenty-four hour establishment.

*I skip the isles, a half-empty whip cream can in hand. It’s not cold like the refrigerated cooler it came from. Makes me wonder if I’ve been eating it the whole time I’ve been playing at shopping.

*I see employees dressed not in customary red Smiths shirts, but rather semi-formal church clothes. They are talking sadly under their breath. They are leaving in a hurry with panicked looks as if in fear of getting overtime. They are hanging onto jobs by a desperate thread.

*I find the scrumptious berries. They are few and very expensive. I look to find the ones not rotten. I want them, but decide against the purchase. Dash to the front.

*I wonder what has brought the store this urgency. Has global competition forced the panic? Has Walmart conglomerate built a bigger Monopoly? Threatened to buy a beloved, already too big remodeled fixture?

*As quickly as I type this phantom, Common Core and education reform appear before me. My hands slow to home row. Hold the keyboard tightly. Decide to let it go in drifting back to sleep. I’ll find another dream just for the weekend.

—-

Comment:

Ha ha…only went over by about 20 words. This is no Lincoln. More a driftwood dreamer political piece. Spell check says I misspelled Walmart but there are no suggestions. 🙂

About hrobertson2013

“Each man ( and mermaid) will be like a shelter from the wind and a refuge from the storm, like streams of water in the desert and the shadow of a great rock in a thirsty land”. Isa 32:2 NIV Warning: The author of this blog is not an ordinary individual. Even Mermaids need a rest from all that's real and grown up. Welcome to the wonder of blog. Come be audience to all that's wet and wild in her stories, poems and thoughts. Instructor by day, super hero by night, and mystical mermaid by summer. Whenever she has the fortune of diving into a pond, reservoir, or mountain waterfall, you'll find her there swimming, and singing songs of life.
Gallery | This entry was posted in Creatures and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Competition: Attempt at 270

  1. J T Weaver says:

    A bold first try. Keep trying, it gets easier. 🙂

Leave a Reply

