I <3 NYC

On fb this fall, I read a post made by my thirty three year old step son.  He was asking his friends how they thought he should celebrate his seven year anniversary of living in NYC.  Lots of advice was given.  Lots of dinner and restaurant recommendations made. Jason said he felt like going to Soho to rest on the mink hammock. I told him he should fly to Seatle to visit his mother.  Did this intentionally.  Knowing it would not be taken well.  Knowing he needed this.  Knowing this would likely squelch his feel good moment.  Lose his appetite. I should have chosen kindness.

Jason is a single professional with multiple prospective women of interest. He has become a career bachelor.  He loves food:  eating it, cooking it…and having a good time. He has four or five room mates.

When I asked if I could visit……he said I could sleep on the couch. I thought this generous. I wonder if the offer still stands.  After all, I have been tending his Harley, giving chickens rides  on the Roadster.  I’ve been starting her up, reving, and riding from mailbox to mailbox all summer. Most recently acquired a helmet, compliments of Officer Hemmingway.

It has been more than ten years since I have been to NYC. One of the boys graduation.  Went to Atlantic City where Jason was working forensics on a colapsed parking structure.  Saw a large hole in ground zero.  Before that, it had been nearly forty years since I was in the big apple. My parents had visited New York approximately 1967 either before or  after visiting the Worlds Fair in Canada.

I remember seeing old, black and white polaroid pictures in a giant photo album.  The kind with the black adhesive corners that kept these pics in place. Photos of my handsome dad carrying a one year old baby (me) up flights and flights of stairs to pose on the top of  the pointed crown.  They claimed I kept losing my shoes on these many flights. My mother, a twenty year old  beauty queen, stewardess looking more like a movie star.

I try to be nice to Jason. The girls and Mark have quit trying.  I send him postcards.  I think I am a lot like him.  Very independent.  Self contained.  Some would say “a selfish jerk.”  I disagree.  I wonder if this is a side effect of becoming a New Yorker.  What’s my excuse?

Time to turn Lady Liberty’s  crown and change face.  Time to do the write thing in visiting. Hope to meet Corrie TenBoom at the Jewish Survivors Museum. Maybe Jason’s ex-girlfriend who works in PR on Broadway can score us some show tickets.  I am hopeful.  She put up Jason for two weeks when he was evicted during Hurricane Sandy. They are still friends after flames went out and floods subsided.

Here is my “To do” list.  Now I just need a cheap plane ticket.

Things to do when I visit NYC this summer:

*Go to Grand Central Terminal to visit Story Corps; Ride public transit…subway….take polaroid pics of Statue of Liberty

*Volunteer somewhere. Visit a “real” library.  Go to Starbucks.

*See lots of art.

*Hear live music. Got to an off broadway show.

*Go to Ground Zero.  Meet David Childs. (probably not.)

*Run in Central Park. SWIM.  Meet a cop on a mounted horse, or one orchestrating traffic with a whistle.

*Sketch dogs, pet owners, pigeons (Nipper).

 *Go to an Amerikesh type restaurant and others.

*Tour all of Jason’s architectual bragging rites.

* Write, write, write.

About hrobertson2013

“Each man ( and mermaid) will be like a shelter from the wind and a refuge from the storm, like streams of water in the desert and the shadow of a great rock in a thirsty land”. Isa 32:2 NIV Warning: The author of this blog is not an ordinary individual. Even Mermaids need a rest from all that's real and grown up. Welcome to the wonder of blog. Come be audience to all that's wet and wild in her stories, poems and thoughts. Instructor by day, super hero by night, and mystical mermaid by summer. Whenever she has the fortune of diving into a pond, reservoir, or mountain waterfall, you'll find her there swimming, and singing songs of life.
This entry was posted in Creatures and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

