CONFERRING WITH MY SON…..THE ITALIAN ONE

Sunday, October 6th.

Dear Anziano Robertson,

I am thinking this is the anniversary of my baptism….but then again, it may not be…It may have been on my birthday….that’s in July.  Whenever it happened it was nearly forty years ago.  Each time I go swimming, I pretend I am being baptised again.  Weird huh?  I like this.

Hi, Don.  It is Sunday and Conference is getting over.  You probably loved every minute of it, as you should.  I was on flights all day yesterday.  Distracted this morning in happy comings and goings.  This afternoon I sat down to listen to the afternoon session.  My favorite speaker was a guy with an Aussie accent.  He was the third to the last speaker.  Just before Russel M. Nelson, and President Monson’s closing remarks.  I wish I knew his name.  I will look on LDS.org.

Dad and I have been in Cleaveland on a business/pleasure trip.  Dad did the business.  I had the pleasure. ha ha.  Dad stayed on.  I came home.  Dad will be home Thursday night.
While I was in Cleaveland I went to the Rock n Roll Hall of Fame.  I think you would love this.  I could see you working here too.  Music playing continuously.  Wonder if the employees ever get tired of it.  If they have to force the happy face or not.
At the entry of the level one was a theater.  An 11 minute movie played in giving introductions to the history of Rock and Roll.  This was a pretty magical melding of trains, travel, and various influences that made Rock and Roll, but also a fantasy, childlike IMAGINATION theme that prevades.  A little boy sneaks out of bed to ………make history in making music?  I think.  This movie was a favorite of mine due to the metaphores and old music and commentaries.  Very cool.  Wish I could access this and attach it for you.  Doubtful.
The Rolling Stones were a major spotlighted exhibit.  I never much cared for them growing up…probably because this sort of thing was not allowed in my childhood ultra conservative home….but wow!  Mick Jager is quite the performer.  All I could do was keep asking myself, “Where did he get that CONFIDENCE and inhibition?  I would like to feel and exhibit such confidence in teaching, and in life……only less vulgar, without the struttings and grabbings, and with clothes on… ha ha… at least in the classroom.  JK.  He seems sooo free.  Wonder if is a natural high or somehow induced?  Hmmm. Think I know.
Also very memorable is a piece of artwork on the 4th level, created by Roger Waters,  the lead singer & bass player of PINK FLOYD in 1994 or something.  It is a replica of  “The Wall” used in a series of concerts in the late 70s-80s on tour.  Actually constructed this wall.  Very famous concert in Berlin, Germany.  Procedes went to a charity to help Germans in need I think.  So there is this massive white brick wall with two openings.  One larger to enter though.  The other smaller in the shape of a cross is the exit.  On the front/ top of the wall sits a dummy (student) next to a creepy OLD male teacher in black suit and red striped tie with exageratedly longgggggggg legs (Tim Burton like).  He has glasses and a graying/white beard and mustache, thinning hair.  Both look rather powerless, just sitting, biding time.  To their right is a HUMONGOUS inflatable.  Macy’s Day Parade type alien-like monster.  I can only imagine it is a symbol, or metaphor of the imposed political/religious/ educational  AUTHORITARIAN POWER.  You decide.  Probably a metaphor for a wacked education system that promotes materialism, Imperialism, and death. Hmmm. U.S.A.  Dunno.
Whether majorly or minorly intended……EDUCATION and TEACHERS get a BAD WRAP! Education the vehicle for additional ills and EVILS.  The monster is dressed like the other teacher on the wall.  Only the hands are like bloody claws.  And the head well… a monstrousity.  Cross between an alien male phalic/ female genitalia terrifying something, with lazer lit breast EYES that could do some serious damage.  Ummm. Yes.  This creature is climbing over THE WALL to I’m not sure what…..for an unknown purpose……other than to snatch up children.  The monster’s backside, legs dangle behind the wall.
On some of the bricks are introspections of Roger Waters.  Musings on losing and finding his own soul and sense of self among fame and all its trappings.  In the corner is an unremarkable stuffed dummy with little to NO facial features (No identity), an unimportant no one, NUMBER.  This is PINK.  PINK is sitting in a motel room at the Tropicana watching television in a kind of brainwashing of “THE WALL” music video of that famous Berlin Concert, I think.  There is a dubbed over, scarey screaming voice that says, “Hey, lady by the bike rack!!!”  You can’t have your pudding, until you eat your meat!!!”  This is troubling.  Wonder if this comes from some drug halucination, or if it was planned as such.  Wonder if there is a sexual connotation.  Don’t know.  This creeps me out.  Especially around anything involving children.
All of this insanity forces me to examine education at present, and how I fit into it.  We have the power to create something better.  What will that become?
So, yes.  If you come home to pursue education……..you are in for one crazy MONSTER coaster ride Donavon!  But then again, you are a builder. And you are a gamer!  May need to kill school zombies, or aliens, or something. ha ha… 🙂
Love you soooo much.  Devon invited Sam over to our house this weekend but she was out of town…..likely Idaho.  Jerry and Myrna brought us 100 poud bag of Yukon Gold potatos from Grace, Idaho.  I wonder if you can find GRACE in that town?  Yum in more way than one.  It snowed 8 inches at our house on Friday.  I was in Cleaveland and missed the whole thing!!  Wow.  83 degrees in Cleaveland.
Well, have a tremendous week!  Tremendous as Mr. Smith would say.  ha ha
About hrobertson2013

“Each man ( and mermaid) will be like a shelter from the wind and a refuge from the storm, like streams of water in the desert and the shadow of a great rock in a thirsty land”. Isa 32:2 NIV Warning: The author of this blog is not an ordinary individual. Even Mermaids need a rest from all that's real and grown up. Welcome to the wonder of blog. Come be audience to all that's wet and wild in her stories, poems and thoughts. Instructor by day, super hero by night, and mystical mermaid by summer. Whenever she has the fortune of diving into a pond, reservoir, or mountain waterfall, you'll find her there swimming, and singing songs of life.
This entry was posted in Anziano Prego and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

