Weekly email to Anziano Robertson

Wednesday, Sept. 25th, 2013
Dear Donavon,
Sorry if I didn’t get an email to you.  I can’t remember if I sent one earlier in the week, but probably didn’t with the Caterpillar/hives incident I had.  So here is a small part of what I was writing last night, and meant to send…. Love mom 🙂
I am reading email….home again….after  having been to a nearby small town to watch students race their pinewood derby cars. These drop-ins bring me and the students much joy.  Parents take notice as well.  Good PR, a side effect.
A most happy gathering of children demonstrating sportsmanship, and a wide range of emotion.  Within less than one minute, one little boy won his heat, as if having won some Grand Prix……Then in a slip, and fall, dropped his nascar, which hit a hard wood floor and shattered… one plastic wheel and tie rod here…….chasis there…..shiny paint and lead inlaid undercarriage down the track.  No sign of Luke.  The eight year old boy disappeared.  In less time than it takes to cross the finish line….. gone in devastated humiliation….leaving a videotaping mom on bended knee to pick up the pieces (in more way than one).
Thankfully, another car was donated…. and substituted….He did eventually race the proxy, which did all right, but was not the same.  In the retirement of the colors, and blessing of sugar cookies, I caught sight of the small one, still distraught.  This child, the youngest brother of my son’s intended. The mom, my son’s future mother-in-law. And Luke, a shadow of the boy I used to cheer in cubscouting. I miss my son.
 So a night of smiles and celebration gave me a glimpse into another side of things in making me an understudy to Life and small town Utah/Mormon traditions.  There and gone in less than a favorite song was a happy hour, and my son’s childhood.
PS- You look good in the castle pictures!  Thank YOU sooooooooooooo much  for these photos.  When I got your  email and saw the pics, I thought of Les Miserables.  The castle part reminded me of a song, “Castle on a Cloud” that Cossette sings as a child.  I love this song and her imaginings.  Imagine visiting Italy, standing on top of one of these castles with Lavanta (Spanish winds), or whatever is the Italian equivalent, blowing through my hair.  There is a wonderful book you should read sometime called The Alchemist, by Paulo Coelho.  I love it.  Hope you are finding your personal legend in part….on your mission.  Love again, and again……Mom
The mission sent an informational email regarding mail and packages.  Assume this is because we will soon be upon the holiday season.  We will put money in your accounts.  I will improve in handwriting letters….maybe.  Do you need anything from us specifically besides our love and prayers and email……please advise.
About hrobertson2013

“Each man ( and mermaid) will be like a shelter from the wind and a refuge from the storm, like streams of water in the desert and the shadow of a great rock in a thirsty land”. Isa 32:2 NIV Warning: The author of this blog is not an ordinary individual. Even Mermaids need a rest from all that's real and grown up. Welcome to the wonder of blog. Come be audience to all that's wet and wild in her stories, poems and thoughts. Instructor by day, super hero by night, and mystical mermaid by summer. Whenever she has the fortune of diving into a pond, reservoir, or mountain waterfall, you'll find her there swimming, and singing songs of life.
This entry was posted in Anziano Prego and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

