Missionary in a Foreign Land

Dear Mom,
 
It sounds like things are going great there at home:) It sounds like all of the festivities for the 100 year anniversary are exciting and fun:) Thank you for staying in contact with Sam:) Please continue, and let her know that you care about her:) Things are good here:) Transfers are today and I am headed to Crottone. It is on the mainland so I am saying goodbye to Sicily for now:( Also my new companion is one transfer younger than me in the mission so I will be senior companion and follow up training! I feel very nervous and kind of inadequate. But I know that I can do it. I have noticed that a lot of times God tells us to go stand by the edge of the deep end of the pool, and when we tell him that we don’t think we can swim he says, Oh yes you can, and pushes us in:) haha, that is exactly how I feel right now. I know that It will be hard, but I know that I will grow so much from it. Just like last transfer when I was with an Italian companion:) Change makes us grow! 
WOW!! That is so cool that you bought a new car!! You will have to send me a pic sometime:) Keep having fun and just be yourself:) I love you sooooo much!!!!!!!!!!
-Anziano Robertson
On Wed, Sep 4, 2013 at 6:30 AM, Heidi Robertson <hrobertson@nsummit.org> wrote:

Dear Anziano Robertson,                        September 3, 2013

 
How are you and your companion?  We are great.  Homecoming week. Warning:  You may not want to read on.   Just got home awhile ago from the powder puff game.  Devon played along with the juniors and beat the seniors 20 to 14.  It was pretty lop -sided until the last play and only seconds to go.  Devon was a defensive tackle.  She sacked the quarterback a couple of times.  I saw a former 4th grader there….Melia Evans, and her family Joy, Dean, and grandparents Glen and Betty Willoughby.  Fun to visit with.  
 
I went up Timp early Saturday and came down Sunday night.  Awesome. Goats at Emerald Lake….15 feet from me.  Lots of berries to eat along the trail.  Old friends from TERT to catch up with.  Love it all, except the restless, sleepless night.  But in remembering the gosh aweful snoring in the surrounding tents, I can still laugh about it in imagining one guy that at times sounded like a cooing pigeon, launching a feather each time he exhaled. Still, I would do it again in a heart beat just to be, to see, to feel the majesty. When in nature everything is set right again.
 
I saw Sam tonight at Subway.  She is all business when at work anymore…..and I don’t see her any other time.  Reminds me of a school friend I have.  I miss the more casual, approachable her.  Seems way to serious these days. Gone on business.  Causing the good open door to feel more like a stone rolled from a sad empty tomb.  Last week I went in to see her to give a hug.  This time only thought it…..and even hellos felt different.  Makes me wonder…..what is different?
 
Yesterday Dad and Delanie and I went car shopping in Heber, then on to Am. Fork.  Came home in a Dodge Journey.  It is beautiful.  Rides like a dream.  Feels foreign.  I am used to moving and shaking behind the sticky wheel, and washboard under foot feeling, driving recklesslessly, and deliberately in Old Black.  I think I will name this car Pearl.  She is definitely a she and requires a different hand. Gentleness. Respect.  I hope she will give me lessons in charm and grace.  When you get home you will hardly recognize the more refined me, Don.  I can’t imagine driving anything but the truck to Timp though.
 
HComing Royalty Assembly tomorrow, Alumni Assembly tomorrow night.  100 year Celebration of the founding of the school district.  Tons of fun things to do this Saturday. Tomorrow we will be bussed up to the ledges for a special program.  As grade levels of all schools are doing this over two days.  
 
HComing game on Friday against Gunnison.
 
Saturday I am going to my Aunt Nita’s  “Celebration of Life.”  She died on Thursday or Friday…last week.  I am looking forward to this with facination.  Will catch up with cousins. I guess Bronzie was sealed to Rock and Britt in the Brigham Temple on Saturday.  I will see Rock this weekend at Nita’s thing.
 
School is good.  The kids are great.  I am trying harder to teach better.  Busy feelings setting in…….I don’t like this. One consolation though…..is that I can feel stronger, more perservering in knowing I have done some “difficult” things this summer, and done them well.  In doing “difficult” things, other difficult things seem that much more accomplishable.  I find strenghth where faith leads unwaveringly.  I  miss the Summer feel of things..and this ease and all round acceptance that is slowly slipping away to a kind of rigid passe’ness.  Holding on though in thinking myself still the smiling, swimming Mermaid.
 
How is the work coming?  Italiano?  
 
I love you and miss you so much.  Love, Mom
 
 
About hrobertson2013

“Each man ( and mermaid) will be like a shelter from the wind and a refuge from the storm, like streams of water in the desert and the shadow of a great rock in a thirsty land”. Isa 32:2 NIV Warning: The author of this blog is not an ordinary individual. Even Mermaids need a rest from all that's real and grown up. Welcome to the wonder of blog. Come be audience to all that's wet and wild in her stories, poems and thoughts. Instructor by day, super hero by night, and mystical mermaid by summer. Whenever she has the fortune of diving into a pond, reservoir, or mountain waterfall, you'll find her there swimming, and singing songs of life.
This entry was posted in Creatures and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

