Blessed Night. I am tired today…..because I stayed up too late…waken by Delanie’s awesomeness :)

Blessed Night Light                      Image              Heidi Robertson 8/1/2013

In waking I arose to close the window

to add another lovely blanket to last nights reading banquet

reminded of the coming coolnesss

nearly falling in the hurry back to summer covers

for fear of leaving the blessed longing place

and other half made dreams and places in my brain

I take one lonnnnnnnng nourished breath

Can smell the rain

Almost taste it

Hear it come to me

like footfalls down the corridor

and on the roof and run off

Whispering

Proof

the spoof of morning news is surely on the way

as creeping tires lick gravel driveways

and just as softly go again

carefully, completely so not to wake the house

retract the tune, rewind

Can’t easily disguise

the freeway just across the meadow hay

I try to turn an ear away in tunneling down

Roll up all snug and layered

in the baling of myself

adjust the tension to a gentler looser tine

and close my eyes

Roll in humble wealth

a grateful beneficiary

A little warmer, wiser

for flight into what’s safe and right

and light among the darkness

In this I am a faithful Christian girl

softly taking place

among the windrowed pews

and whisperings

from one who shant be scolded,

bruised and scourged again

nor mocked, derided, by the home crowd

but lifted from the grave in glory and in grace

This something I can never do for myself

or without him who made me, saved me

sketched the space and orbits

Set the planets in their places

and late on the second day

sent the living rain

and brought the Word into the world

and living water to the widow at the well.

I curl up in the warmness of his loving literagy

and praying thank my God for this His only son

kiss his nail pierced hands and softly reign his name

then close my eyes in restful slumber once again

drift away

Amening

blessed night light

About hrobertson2013

“Each man ( and mermaid) will be like a shelter from the wind and a refuge from the storm, like streams of water in the desert and the shadow of a great rock in a thirsty land”. Isa 32:2 NIV Warning: The author of this blog is not an ordinary individual. Even Mermaids need a rest from all that's real and grown up. Welcome to the wonder of blog. Come be audience to all that's wet and wild in her stories, poems and thoughts. Instructor by day, super hero by night, and mystical mermaid by summer. Whenever she has the fortune of diving into a pond, reservoir, or mountain waterfall, you'll find her there swimming, and singing songs of life.
This entry was posted in Lord & King. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

