Birthdays Come and Birthdays Go…Take You Places in Your Head

Forty-Sevening      by Heidi Robertson 6/30/201                               Image

If you chance to meet a frown,

Do not let it stay

Law of attraction says, “Quickly turn it.”

Calls for action, liquid diet

Leaves a love note…

“I’ve gone for milk”

not beer

Reconstructing Smith’s I fear..

Searching here and there

for cream, Salt rock, ziplocs,

in between “Sell me something beyond belief”

and “Brush your teeth” before I pay for it

Oh, good grief

An unsuspecting Happy Birthday?!

Blue capping July 16

Lucky Expiration….

Promises lots of days and time to think

on Hallmark playing Mid life crisis

I choose to close those cards, replacing them

but keep the yellow envelope.

My heart knows they are wrong

in searching songs find everburning candles

On clearance racks and stacks and stacks of snacks

Day old bakery goods and roses

Everywhere free enterprise is drilling me

Killing me.

Steer wide and derby by

Cart kids laughing, waving “Hi

Wishing me more Happy Birthdays

These I’ll try

I’m Birthday girling and pretending

Sweet sixteen feels never ending if you try

I’ll drive the miles

for circuses and quincineras

for farmers markets

local corn…. less harm

Warm bread and honey,

Volker charm

Instead I am stocking produce isles…

Circling Smith’s Fresh values

Where you think you have a choice but no consumer voice

In my mind

I’m not forever 24 houring

It’s the right day and the right time

I’m Organically in Oakley

I’m Cowpoking at Cattleman’s Hall

Not in Kamas tossing hay and groceries

This broken me, outspoken me

Wanting every day a holiday and jetski races

Grilling with Rockport campers and running leashless

Where Days of forty-seven’s chasing candy down the streets

Indepence day in Henefer with K.B.

And maybe even Rodeoing with the Williams

and the Youngs

Forever highstepping…

Mega problem with my theme ride Ford

clip and crash an endcap in a torn up

Mega store

as one stray firecracker Snaps

Cracks my eyeses

Ouch!

Nice tryses

Some days call for compromises

and reality

Curse this truth

Please call wet clean up Isle Two

but Thank you, Lord… for other proofs

for hearing prayers

and better yet for taking checks and IOUs

For not noticing my cart’s quite empty

In pain I Love & Logic

Quickly buy Horizon milk

And leave the cart

like icecream melting in the park

What can I order up to treat this shiner?

I’d be finer with your cookies…..

I’ll bring the milk

Turn this upside down rightside up

with a cold solo cup;

milk the compress on my eye

In time I’ll be just fine in your love

on the porch releasing time

Smiling frowns away

forty-sevening

About hrobertson2013

“Each man ( and mermaid) will be like a shelter from the wind and a refuge from the storm, like streams of water in the desert and the shadow of a great rock in a thirsty land”. Isa 32:2 NIV Warning: The author of this blog is not an ordinary individual. Even Mermaids need a rest from all that's real and grown up. Welcome to the wonder of blog. Come be audience to all that's wet and wild in her stories, poems and thoughts. Instructor by day, super hero by night, and mystical mermaid by summer. Whenever she has the fortune of diving into a pond, reservoir, or mountain waterfall, you'll find her there swimming, and singing songs of life.
This entry was posted in Author. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

