Adaptability is a hot commodity, and if I were investing I’d buy stock in it….

Scorpion WomanART Beyond the Gate

by Heidi Robertson 7/4/2013

I’d lend Alina Eydel my black light

If she would paint a northern scorpion poised to strike

Then hang it on the wall and call it “Adaptations.”

With bold and yellow feng shuied eyes like Sal

I wonder if she’d give her long lean legs

and with a model’s body wrap her in a traveling textured dress

top it with a lovely sweeping hat

and striking venemous tail to go

With that

Exploring expectations I slowly steer my bike around it

Careful not to fall

Prey to

All I’ve seen and been and thought before

Seems different now

And I am new again with my improved imagined truth

Quadratic formulas and proofs

Postulating pencil stubs ’til

No use…….a2 + b2 still=U

and C. S. Lewis’

Miracles

I am too much enfused, flambe’sed

For each time we’re together is like the last and first and ever after

But are you used to this, in tune with such unnatural things?

Or did you take the static for a siren song?

And yet you’ve gone.

Is this so wrong for me to be? Handholding Longfellow?

And you my metaphor?

I am Confused by what this is and isn’t, should and and shouldn’t be.

But still I keep on writing blissfully

Til you release me faithfully on wings of butterflies

to light on deep blue seas of Mermaid waters

For now I’ll be a squatter in a stranger land

And you my Muse as we are friending

One day I’ll disappear beyond the gate where few have climbed

You’ll let go of my hand and with a brush replacing

We’ll paint a softer ending.

About hrobertson2013

“Each man ( and mermaid) will be like a shelter from the wind and a refuge from the storm, like streams of water in the desert and the shadow of a great rock in a thirsty land”. Isa 32:2 NIV Warning: The author of this blog is not an ordinary individual. Even Mermaids need a rest from all that's real and grown up. Welcome to the wonder of blog. Come be audience to all that's wet and wild in her stories, poems and thoughts. Instructor by day, super hero by night, and mystical mermaid by summer. Whenever she has the fortune of diving into a pond, reservoir, or mountain waterfall, you'll find her there swimming, and singing songs of life.
This entry was posted in Creatures. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

